Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Install application from file and run it in Terminal

Beans

Install application from file and run it in Terminal

I'm new to Ubuntu, and I want to install blender on Linux from *.tar.xz file I have downloaded from the blender.org, but I just can't make it work. If I install blender from the Repository, it works but it is an older version - 3.6.2. I have noticed that when you install the blender package from the repository, the main files are copied to /usr/shared/blender, the shortcut file - blender.desktop is placed in /usr/shared/applications and the file the execution file is placed in /usr/bin/ so it seems you can't just uncompressed the *.tar.xz to /usr/local/blender and double click the shortcut file, yet the instruction for installing on Linux, on Blender.org are to uncompressed it to usr/local/.
    I have 2 questions but they might be interrelated:

1. What should I do to make version 4 installed from the downloaded file it work by clicking on the shortcut file, like it works when I install blender from the repository?
    2. Even the version I installed from the repository will not run from the Terminal with ./blender, or /usr/bin/blender, even though it does run by double clicking /usr/bin/blender file, or the blender.desktop file, so it is not missing dependencies, so if I want to run it from Terminal with command line, what should I do?

Beans

Re: Install application from file and run it in Terminal

/usr/bin is a location automatically searched for applications, so you just type blender in the terminal and it should start.

Beans

Hi,
    I open a Terminal window and try all these commands:
    blender
    ./blender
    ./usr/bin/blender
    /usr/bin/blender

all I get is: "no such file or directory"
    though a file by the name blender is in /usr/bin/ and if I double click it with the mouse not in Terminal it runs the blender app fine.